“Quote” of the day

“(On the 2008 Olympic team) I was an outcast…I was the youngest, led a normal life and, I hate to say it, I was good. It’s kind of a jealousy thing. Then when I got (‘Dancing With the Stars’), it was hard because it was (teammate) Alicia (Sacramone)’s dream to be on it.”

Shawn Johnson (supposedly) to the tabloid Us Magazine

Personal opinion: I don’t believe Johnson said a word of that statement — she’s simply too smart. If those reporters could produce video, that would be one thing. But anything less and I’m convinced the magazine made it up. Shame on Us, and shame on MSNBC for picking up the story.

11 Responses to ““Quote” of the day”

  1. ugly_leotards Says:

    I am skeptical too. That is a rather out-of-character comment from Shawn, who has (to my knowledge) always tried to conduct herself with modesty and sportsmanship. Those comments are neither. I am guessing that there is a lot of context missing.

  2. Rach Says:

    No way! I could not see her saying this. I small a defamation suit coming on.

  3. Cathy Says:

    I can’t imagine Shawn saying that stuff.

  4. MS Says:

    I could see her saying it in a sarcastic way, and then the magazine took it out of context. Like “lolz omg I was an outcast!! hehe lolz”

    Sad that they have to try to make every decent person look awful just to make some $$.

  5. Lilly Says:

    I so didn’t believe it when I read it… nothing she has said up to now shows that she was dissatisfied w/ her teammates, if anything her and Nastia were (are?) buddies. I think this is a lie.

  6. ally Says:

    Has Shawn said anything on her blog or twitter about not saying that? Face it, she may very well have said it. The arrogant side of her may be coming out.

  7. Katrina Says:

    Look at the source: US magagzine. They print a lot of crazy crap that isn’t true.

    I know Alicia does love the show but I don’t believe a word of that statement.

  8. truth Says:

    I hate to break this to you but Nastia, Sam and Shayla are not exactly nice people. I know for a fact that Nastia and Shawn are not best buddies. I have heard Nastia say bad things about Shawn. Sam is a follower and does whatever Alicia says.

    Alicia is pretty much out grown this group. I just hope Ivana doesn’t turn into a Nastia mini me.

  9. Kelly Says:

    If she said that, she should get her facts straight because she wasn’t the youngest on the team – Bridget was. She’s not even 17 yet and might even be a year younger in school than Shawn. So perhaps the quote IS a crock?

  10. Ella Says:

    Ya Bridget is younger by a several months, but both of them are born in 1992.

    I think as a pro athlete she’s probably been trained by her agent/sponsors what to say (or more likely what not to say) to media, I doubt that is a verbatim statement.

  11. becca Says:

    [Quote] hate to break this to you but Nastia, Sam and Shayla are not exactly nice people. I know for a fact that Nastia and Shawn are not best buddies. I have heard Nastia say bad things about Shawn. Sam is a follower and does whatever Alicia says.[/Quote]

    Talk is though that Shawn isn’t as sweet and friendly off camera though as she comes accross as on camera either… Some talk is that Shawn started believing her own press and acted like she was better than the rest of the girls. The statements I went to a normal school/trained less come accross as very condescending. Especially considering the fact that Bridget/Chellsie/Alicia all went to regular public schools either.

Leave a comment