Whatever happened to Wendy Bruce?

The 1992 Olympian is working toward a new goal: earning a college degree.

1992 U.S. Olympian Wendy Bruce.

The Florida Sun-Sentinel reported that Bruce, who earned a team bronze medal with the U.S. women in Barcelona, attempted to go to college after the Olympic Games but dropped out because she felt “scared and intimidated.”

Bruce, who dropped out of school in 10th grade and earned a GED, is now married and a mom to two. She was diagnosed with Adult Attention-Defecit Disorder last year. Treatment seems to have made a difference — she recently won the Houghton-Mifflin College Success National Essay Contest and is receiving excellent marks in her classes.

“I am attending school to finish what I started fifteen years ago,” she wrote in the essay. “When I was training in gymnastics. When I was training in gymnastics my attention was so focused that everything other than gymnastics was not important…After school was out of the way, I never gave schooling another thought. But after the Olympics I was stuck. I had spent so much energy training for one goal that I did not have a plan for what I was going to do after I had reached that goal.”

Bruce hopes to have a career in sports psychology.

“I’m going to be the first in my family to graduate from college,” she said. “When I was younger, all I focused on was training. Now, I love school and I want to finish. I want a fulfilling career.”

Further reading: “Ex-Olympic gymnast Wendy Bruce-Martin pursues new dream in Orlando area”

What Success Means to Me: An Essay by Wendy Bruce-Martin

Wendy Bruce, 1992 U.S. Olympic Trials, Floor Exercise:

Tags:

8 Responses to “Whatever happened to Wendy Bruce?”

  1. Ami Says:

    You are really good!!!! better than gymnasts today, and they are good

  2. James Says:

    Loved the Essay – It was really good. And you were an amazing gymnast, I still like to watch your past routines on YouTube and remember those days when I was a gymnast, and you were my favorite. I am male, but I always loved women’s gymnastics more. Take care, hope you and your family are doing well.

  3. Jade Says:

    i love Wendy she was my coach at browns gymnastics for a long time and she was my insperation to keep going! even though i dont do gymnastics anymore everyday i think about starting it up again so i can go to the olympics just like her!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    love you Wendy

  4. cameron bruce Says:

    thats my mommy

  5. gymfan Says:

    Wendy, I was always a BIG fan, but now, after reading your essay, I am a HUGE ADMIRER!!!! You will be a fantastic sports psychologist — I’m sure you already are, but with the degree, I’m sure it will help bring in the big bucks! Then you can build your own lake house!! 🙂 Keep inspiring. The world needs more of it. Thanks for being YOU!

  6. marissa Says:

    thats my mommy tooo!! haha i love you girlyyyy

  7. Megan Says:

    Wendy helps coach me!!!!!!!!She help’s me on everything!!!! You’r a great coach and mom friend!!!! ❤ lil huska

  8. Felipe Says:

    I am a big fan of Wendy. I’m from Argentina.

Leave a comment