That controversial Paul Hamm quote

Paul HammTrash talking? Paul Hamm? Really?

Apparently so. I was surprised to read Hamm’s comment, given at a U.S. team intrasquad in Colorado on the Gymnastics Coaching blog.

OK, so it’s a far cry from what the great Muhammad Ali used to spew in his heydey, and you’d probably hear a lot worse at competitions like the U.S. Track and Field Olympic Trials, where testosterone gets built up by making negative comments about one’s competitors, but for gymnastics, oh my…

Was it arrogant? This blogger thinks it depends on the context. Hamm might have tossed it off the cuff with a smile. It doesn’t seem like something he’d say in all seriousness. Of course, everything that Hamm says is analyzed much more seriously than anyone else. He’s the controversial Olympic Champion.

And Hamm did look fantastic on the first day of the 2008 U.S. Championships — according to some, better than he’d looked in 2004. Maybe the Chinese should be worried.

If Blaine Wilson, whose cockiness was part of his charm, had said something like this, would it get so much attention? After all, isn’t it nice to hear someone say something other than “I just hope to do my best”?

3 Responses to “That controversial Paul Hamm quote”

  1. Jen Says:

    I think that if any of the other men had said it people would have forgotten about it already, but since it was Paul that said it they have to make a big deal about it. People always like to assume the worst in him.
    I can’t really see Paul saying it in complete seriousness or in an arrogant, I think he said it with a smile and a hope that the team will be able to make the Chinese earn a team gold instead of having it handed to them. I personally I’m tired of hearing the same old “I want to hit 4 for 4, or 6 for 6″….

  2. TCO Says:

    I liked it. I want to see him and Yang battle mano y mano. I think each of them has a combattitiveness in addition to a gymnasticsness.

  3. Those controversial Moceanu statements « The Gymblog Says:

    […] Hamm isn’t the only one saying controversial stuff as The Olympic Games […]

Leave a Reply

